Posted by: karenevoss | June 7, 2011

Saving Lives

“I believe there are Angels among us, sent down to us from somewhere up above. They come to you and me in our darkest hours, to show us how to live, to teach us how to give, to guide us with a light of love”. – Angels Among Us, Alabama

I have considered myself an advocate for saving lives after my husband’s completion of suicide on December 14, 2008. It took months to realize I needed to prevent others from doing the same and to educate people on the effects and prevention of suicide. In the fall of 2009, my sister and I formed a team, Walking foRuss, for the Milwaukee Community Out of the Darkness Walk for Suicide Education and Prevention through the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP). We walked again in 2010 and I am continuing in 2011, in fact I am on the planning team. I am also getting the information to people via AFSP on Facebook, placing posts with statistics, informing in blog posts, or simply talking about Russ’ death and my journey. By knowing everyone shares information is only one way to save lives.

Life-saving goes beyond suicide. It is around us everyday in many forms. For instance, calling 911 for someone who collapses in church or calling 911 for a loved one who fell suffering a head injury. Getting someone’s attention before they get hit with a golf ball, baseball, a car, or even a stray bullet is ultimately saving a life. Removing obstacles which may end a life, saves a life.

I am an active member/participant at the South Shore Y in Cudahy, WI. Everyday I am saving lives by encouraging people to participate in programs and classes. Being able to inform members about the Y, inspire them with my accomplishments in and out of the Y, and motivating them on their journeys, not only saves them, but me as well. There is something to say about people helping people and assisting them at the arrival of their dreams. Telling someone “good job” and “I am proud of you”, makes them feel good inside and gives them more strength to continue on. Making friendships, building relationships and creating bonds enforces their reason for taking control of their lives.

I cannot end without saying how Higher Brain Living has impacted my life and saved me. Trapped in grieving and unable to move forward from guilt that I had been carrying around for two years. I needed to do something so that my life would be better and so would the people around me. Within a few months of H.E.A.R.T. sessions, I became guilt free and am now moving forward with goals and dreams I did not know even existed, for example becoming more athletic, discovering a passion for writing, and how strongly I feel towards informing, inspiring, & motivating the world around me.

Responses

  1. That is so great & encouraging

    • Thank You Brent! I encourage to read more of this blog and you will be inspired!


Leave a Reply

Categories

