Posted by: karenevoss | September 19, 2011

Don’t “let go”

Inspiration for this post is from the hit song I Won’t Let Go by Rascal Flatts.

Before you were born, you were already loved and cared for. Your parents were your number one fans giving you the needed nourishment. You relied on them to make sure in nine months you would be born happy and strong. All you had to do was cry or scream to receive attention, whether it meant hunger, a diaper change, tiredness or boredom, someone found their way to you.

As you grew your needs, wants and desires developed into more. The basic needs were still required, but now you used your voice. Oh yes, you still cried and screamed when you didn’t get your way, got picked on or were over tired. Of course now you received discipline for misbehaving. Time outs and being grounded were your new friends.

Yes, every step of the way to adulthood, you had someone to take care of you. Now all grown up, you are responsible to take care of yourself and maybe take care of others, whether it is family, a loved one, or a friend. You now have a family who relies on you to help them get well and to not “let go” of your comfort and support. What if you were born with or developed an illness, had a life-threatening health emergency, became involved with some with an illness, or suffered a tragedy? Who takes care of them or you?

Medical staff, ministry, family, friends, and strangers are all people in your life to help you cope or deal with a crisis. They will answer questions, be at your side hold your hand, fill your needs, and won’t “let go”. Who though takes care of your emotions and feelings? No one can put a band-aid or cast on tears, but anyone could hand you a kleenex. Your fears, terrifying as they might be, shall be eased, but not necessarily quelled.

“I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight”
I will hold you tight
And I won’t let go”

While I dealt with the sudden death of my husband, the people helping me cope didn’t “let go”. I can’t begin to tell you the number of hugs I received or the hours spent conversing with friends and family. Sometimes all they had to do was listen as I poured out my heart and mind. I believe in Angels and even though I can’t always see them, I know they are present. Angels are always ready to catch me when I fall, hold me when my tears fall, and they won’t “let go”.

“Don’t be afraid to fall
I’m right her to catch you
I won’t let you down
It won’t get you down
You’re gonna make it
Yeah, I know you can make it”

Remember, when you are feeling lost, tired of the fight and can’t cope with the situation, there is always someone around you who will be your strength and won’t “let go”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

