Posted by: karenevoss | February 12, 2012

I Have Been Chosen

I Have Been Chosen
By K.E.Voss
Feb 12, 2012

“World change BEGINS with just one person. It takes one person to CREATE the spark that IGNITES the fire which leads to GREAT things”! -K.E.Voss

How many of us have heard that our path in life is mapped out before we were born or maybe that there is a reason for everything? Or that God has chosen you for a specific purpose?

Hearing these words when dealing with grief isn’t really what you want to hear. Heck, you might want to say to the person(s), “How dare you say that to me now? Can’t you see I’m hurting and that’s the last thing I want to hear”? There’s enough to deal with than thinking about what your purpose in life is.

It took me quite a while to really “hear” these words much less think about them until a couple of weeks ago when the church choir sang, “GOD HAS CHOSEN ME”. I began to think on how God has chosen me after the death of my husband and I started writing questions and answers to figure it out. Here’s what developed.

God has chosen me to discover my authentic self and to inspire others with my journey. I can accomplish this through my writing by reaching out to people who are unaware of the implications of suicide loss and bereavement. Recently published in the Mental Health Association of Wisconsin’s winter 2012 Survivors Helping Survivors newsletter, allows for other survivors to see that there’s light at the end of the tunnel. I’m encouraging others to share their stories of survival. I discovered a vision to extend this story, “A Journey of Survival”, across the United States to other mental health associations as well as to other organizations.

“Why was I chosen to do this job? For who am I supposed to do this work for?” are questions I’ve been reflecting on. I have been chosen to spread strength, hope, and love around the world. People will begin to really think about their choices about their lives and seek help for themselves and to help others. I have been led to use my journey to spread the word of suicide completion, prevention, and education. I hope the people still limited to knowledge of suicide based on the stigma, which today still surrounds it, learn the facts in order to drop the stigma. It’s time to break down the walls and become informed! The benefactors of any and all information about suicide or grief itself are: anyone who will listen; survivors, family, and friends of those who have felt or experienced the loss of a loved one or friend; and people affected directly and indirectly by mental illnesses.

I’m closing with lyrics from one of my favorite songs, “You Are Mine” by David Haas. It has a message of strength, hope, comfort and love.

“I will come to you in the silence
I will lift you from all your fear
You will hear My voice
I claim you as My choice
Be still, and know I am near

I am hope for all who are hopeless
I am eyes for all who long to see
In the shadows of the night,
I will be your light
Come and rest in Me

Do not be afraid, I am with you
I have called you each by name
Come and follow Me
I will bring you home
I love you and you are mine”.

I know why I’ve been chosen. What have you been chosen for?

Leave a Reply

Categories

