Posted by: karenevoss | March 22, 2012

Dreaming With Wide Eyes

“Keep on dreaming even if it breaks your heart”. –Even if it Breaks Your Heart, Eli Young Band

We all dream as we grow-up. Some dreams are outrageous, while others are practical. Some are practically outrageous, but everyone agrees that dreams are worth having.

I’ve dreamt long and hard with many sleepless nights of my future. My perfect dream married to the man of my dreams,  we created a family of two or three children, and eventually I would be a working mom. Over the years, as I met my future husband, the dream changed where I would become a stay-at-home mom. It didn’t matter how financially secure the family would be, we just knew we’d do it. I planned on improving my scrapbooking skills and possibly creating for others at a price and/or becoming a part-time consultant. I was ready to take on the challenges that lay ahead.

I didn’t know that my dreams would be crushed as well as my heart and spirit.

My husband passed away four months after we married. My future dreams dissipated. I had quickly turned into a one income homeowner. I went from financial know-how to financial confusion until I received a gift I had forgotten about. My angel had made arrangements so I wouldn’t have to worry for a while. It took some time to get back on my feet and when I did, I couldn’t turn back.

In time, life started to reveal itself to me. I began to create relationships with people who helped me grow on every level. From staff at the YMCA to my chiropractors’ to the facilitators’ in Higher Brain Living; all of which have led me to some amazing friends and connections. Shown to me rare skills I didn’t realize I had.

Becoming healthier, more athletic, and more social are only part of it. I have developed a better creative mind, which has allowed me to discover my writing talent. Writing and sharing my journey with others is so much a part of me that I am writing a book on it. I am changing the world.

Dreams may change, but you can’t give up on them. You will never know how far they can go until you dream them up and then pursue them. Some may break your heart while others will open your heart. Dream with your eyes wide open and you will uncover great things!

Yes, I still have dreams. I am going to find someone to spend the rest of my life with and a family to share all the love I have with. My dreams were by a broken heart, but that doesn’t define me. I have been on an amazing journey and it didn’t end with death, it’s alive with life!

Leave a Reply

Categories

