Posted by: karenevoss | June 15, 2013

It’s not Instagram…

But the pictures are mine. I captured them with my nifty Samsung Intensity II phone for Verizon with a key feature, a slide out keyboard.

A very happy tree stump

A very happy tree stump

Spike the parrot Custom Grown Greenhouse

Spike the parrot
Custom Grown Greenhouse

A lot of people have fancy phones connecting to everyone and everything at the touch of touchscreen, however, my budget nor my sanity can afford that. I sit at computers at work most of the day then come home to time at my laptop. I really don’t need to have one at my fingertips all day long. I think my brain would fry not to mention get me in trouble at work. My slide out keyboard allows me to send text and photo messages with a few clicks and I’m happy with that. Sure all the fancy apps would be nice, but my name isn’t on them.

What I like to do with my not-so-smart phone involves capturing images, which I can share with others via a photo message, by simply showing to friends and family, or downloading to my laptop to upload to my blog, Facebook, or to order prints.

Rainy evening outside Sam's Club parking lot

Rainy evening outside
Sam’s Club parking lot

Rainy evening outside Sam's Club parking lot

Rainy evening outside
Sam’s Club parking lot

It’s not a special app, only the camera button on the side of my phone that comes alive when I find something calling my name. Psst…over here Karen…take a picture…now doesn’t that look pretty spectacular. Yes, it does.

Sun setting in the distance

Sun setting in the distance

The Milwaukee skyline as the sun sets

The Milwaukee skyline as the sun sets

I tend to photograph animals and my garden for I know people who love nature and animals of course.

First roses of the season just opened.

First roses of the season just opened.

Sleeping baby robins. There are 4.

Sleeping baby robins.
There are 4.

Random pictures can be captured as well. Like these from the lakefront. A marble sculpture where I almost had head shot photos taken by Lindsay Jones Photography, but someones wedding had been taking place. Also, an anchor sculpture since the South Shore Yacht Club resides nearby.

Marble sculpture

Marble sculpture

Anchors away!

Anchors away

What can you take away from this posting? That you don’t always need something fancy to capture a moment or a noun or to communicate with other people. You just require light, the moment or noun, and a simple camera in your not-so-smart phone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

