Posted by: karenevoss | November 25, 2013

Your Heart is a Compass

I heard many times while on a “To Know Yourself” retreat at Satchidananda Ashram-Yogaville, in Buckingham, VA, what people want to do and what they want in life. But I also heard the reasons why they “can’t” do them. I use the term “can’t” loosely because it’s a word that my mom always said means, “I don’t want to” or that you gave up trying. It’s one thing to try and not do well or have success at and not do it again, but if you give up before giving something a chance, then you set yourself up to fail. Who really wants to fail? What’s the phrase, “if at first you don’t succeed, try, try, again”. Why fail before you try to succeed?

I’m publishing a book in spring 2014 and it’s something I never thought of trying until a couple of people heard the story I wrote and told me that it’s a book in two pages. Not knowing what I had to do to create a book out of a story, I met the right people and learned/am learning the process. It’s an awesome feeling and accomplishment. If I never write another book (I’m not saying I won’t), I know I can now because I tried and didn’t give up when I arrived at the difficult parts.

On every journey there’s a part of the body that leads you and knows if you’re making the right decision. Your heart has the answers. Your heart knows the way. It’s your compass so why not listen to it and let it lead you to what your life has planned. Maybe you’re a writer, maybe you can act, maybe you can dance, or maybe you can sing. What are your dreams? What talent do you have that you aren’t pursuing? Follow your compass.

Leave a Reply

Categories

