Posted by: karenevoss | April 6, 2014

If Only Dis-ease

At some point in everyone’s life, we’ve experienced the “if only dis-ease”. It’s lumped in the same category of the “what if syndrome” and the “maybe if illness”. Each one of these has a cure and no drugs come into play.

Last Sunday at church, a visiting priest reminded the congregation about the “If Only Dis-ease”. The symptoms stem from our mind. Call it the lower brain or the monkey mind, but everyone has one. The dis-ease appears before, after or during the though process. Maybe you didn’t receive a promotion then your mind thinks If only I had worked harder, if onlyI had put more hours in, etc. Maybe you pulled a muscle, your mind thinks if only I had stretched better and drank more water, if only I hadn’t run today. If only, if only, if only.

I wonder if reversing the words to “only if” could help resolve the symptoms. Only if I drank more water and properly stretched, I won’t get injured. Only if I work harder can I become a successful writer. Only if I manage my time better I could accomplish more.

See how your mind processes things differently when you change the wordage of your thoughts. Think about it.

Responses

  1. […] few days ago, I published my 100th blog post on Inspiring Thru Thought, titled “If Only Dis-ease“. One hundred posts since April 2011. Not quite three years worth of posts to equate […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

