Posted by: karenevoss | August 17, 2014

I am only one.

“I am only one, but I am one.
I cannot do everything
but I can do something.
And I will not let what I cannot do
interfere with what I can do”.

-Edward Everett Hale

This week following the Iron Girl Pleasant Prairie triathlon, not only provided recovery, but insight into a new way of being.

I’m not a runner and yet I find a couple of 5K events calling my name, after the tri, mainly because friends have been placing possible events in my head. Normally after the tri, my running shoes get stored away until late February before the Idle Ironman challenge (a full Ironman completed over the course of 31 days compared to 17 hours) starts at my locale Y in March. Maybe this year changes that. My body seeks movement, which means getting back to group classes I enjoy and yet can feel clumsy in (until I attend enough) such as Body Combat and Zumba

I find myself wanting to focus on projects already started and work on my growth and development. I want to catch up and keep up with overflowing email accounts (all with a different purpose). I find myself wanting to extend my published book, That’s All I Got, more within the community with or without approval by the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (approval would prove more beneficial). Connections to people and places create the environment that helps save lives.

I find myself seeking out normalcy. This may mean a new way of doing, living, scheduling, or being. I’ve realized that my writing and book events plus marketing associated with my book has become a part-time job. I know some things aren’t working and I sort of know what has worked in the past. It’s about finding a happy medium knowing days exist where I won’t get everything done. I am only one. This also means the feeling of accomplishment when I make the mark and put forth the effort.


Leave a comment

Categories