Posted by: karenevoss | April 15, 2015

Psalm 91: A Spiritual Connection

While sitting in church on Sunday, the voice of my publisher from a recent email said to me, “keep writing”.I thought, “how odd to receive this message while listening to the word of God”. At that moment, I received another message only this time, lyrics to a Catholic hymn, “Praise be the Lord” only I had the title incorrect. I ran the tune in my mind and the words changed to “Blest Be the Lord”. I confirmed the title in the Catholic Community Hymnal.

The text for “Blest Be the Lord” arrives from Psalm 91 as it read of the bottom of the page. I started to read the song and a certain part connected with me: “Blest be the Lord, blest be the Lord, the God of mercy, the God who saves. I shall not fear the dark of night nor the arrow that flies by day. I need not shrink before the terrors of the night, not stand alone before the light of day. No harm shall come to me, no arrow strike me down, no evil settle in my soul”. Now I’m curious as to what Psalm 91: Be With Me referenced back to the song. I copied the following verses: “You who dwell in the shelter of the Lord, Most High, who abide in the shadow of our God, say to the Lord my refuge and fortress, the God in whom I trust. No evil shall befall you no pain come near, for the angels stand close by your side, guarding you always and bearing you gently, watching over your life”.

I took a minute to reflect and I realized some of these words connected to yet another song, “On Eagles Wings”. The lyrics that carried over consist of: “You need not bear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day; though thousands about you, near you it shall not come. You who dwell in the shelter of the Lord, who abide in his shadow for life, say to the Lord: ‘my refuge, my rock in whom I trust'”.

Three pieces of music all connected by a Psalm. Now what does any of this have to do with my life or anyone else’s? I guess these questions need answers:

*What fears hold me back? Why do they hold me back? What am I afraid of?
*Do my thoughts resemble something evil? What’s causing those thoughts?
*Have I lost trust in myself, in God, in life?

Leave a Reply

Categories

