Posted by: karenevoss | July 26, 2015

The race that wasn’t

On Saturday, July 18, 2015, I participated in the Famous Racing Sausages 5K at Miller Park Stadium in Milwaukee. I look forward to this race every year. Whether I’m racing alone or with a buddy or two, I always look forward to this race because for one, it’s fun and two, it’s to get into race mode before the Iron Girl Triathlon a few weeks later. I consider this a practice race for the run portion of the Tri, to get an estimated time and see how my legs work under pressure.

Wisconsin has a rule about the weather: wait 10 minutes and the weather will change. Whoever came up with this knew exactly what they were talking about. Before the race a thunderstorm rolled through bringing rain and a breeze and because of this the race had a setback on the time it started by 15 minutes. Fifteen minutes isn’t long if you think about it, however, it’s quite long when the sun shows up and humidity takes root. The humidity shot up immediately and thus started an interesting race.

I’m not in the race to win a prize (though one day that would be nice), but I want to do my best. I completed the 3.1 miles in 58:27, a lot longer than usual. Several factors contributed to my time such as the humidity (my calves don’t like the heat unless properly hydrated), starting further back getting me stuck in a sea of walkers (trying to sprint around them causes difficulty), waiting on others, and then meeting up with a fellow South Shore Y member (we walked and talked near the end). No matter how I felt, I knew I would run through the Miller Park part of the race and crossing the finish line. I won my own race by completing with a smile.

20150716_190420-1

My Bib Number

20150716_190537

Racing shirts

20150718_100511

The Famous Racing Sausages van

20150718_095703

My stats and those of others

Leave a Reply

Categories

