Posted by: karenevoss | November 30, 2015

Understanding Dreams

I woke up on Thanksgiving morning to a interesting and seemingly bizarre dream.

I dreamt that I was a student at a college that resembles Hogwarts (the school from all the Harry Potter movies). One of my instructors happened to be a friend of mine who taught math and/or astronomy (she isn’t a teacher in real life). Her and Professor McGonagall taught classes in the Stun Building and I got lost finding my classes (sounds familiar like Harry and Ron in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone). One of the bathrooms in the Stun Building contained no sinks, but only toilets in stalls; I found this very odd that you weren’t allowed to wash your hands after using the toilet. According to my dream, drinking soda wasn’t allowed because another student caught me drinking one and she said she was going to tell Professor McGonagall on me. I hate to think what the professors gave as detention for drinking an unapproved beverage.

Now I started to look up my dream on Dream Moods and arrived at some interesting conclusions like it has this for college: “To dream that you are in college indicates that you are going through some social or cultural changes. You want to expand your knowledge and awareness. It also suggests that now is a good time for you to experiment and try new things. If you had gone to college in your past, then also consider your personal experiences and memories of your college days. However, if you are currently in college, then it may be a reflection of your current surroundings. Alternatively, the dream suggests that you will achieve your goals through perseverance and hard work. You may be going through a period of stress in your life.” While Harry Potter himself wasn’t in my dream, he’s represented on Dream Moods as:
“To see Harry Potter in your dream indicates that you have the potential to accomplish amazing things in the face of insurmountable hardships. Harry Potter reflects a more modern, atypical version of a movie hero with glasses and a quiet yet immensely strong personality.”

I wondered if anything would come up for soda and guess what, it did: “To drink soda in your dream indicates that you need to be more bubbly or vivacious. Liven up! Alternatively, the dream suggests that you need to be refreshed or rejuvenated.” Now I looked up friend and while the interpretation is lengthy, this part seems to fit better: “To see friends in your dream signify aspects of your personality that you have rejected, but are ready to incorporate and acknowledge. The relationships you have with those around you are important in learning about yourself. Alternatively, dreaming of a friend indicates positive news.”

Now I can reflect on the interpretations from Dream Moods or I can reflect on events in my life. Last weekend, I finished reading the last of the Harry Potter books. I read them years ago and decided this year, I’d read them again. My friend I saw recently at an event and I haven’t seen her in a while. Life became more stressful after hearing bad news about the company I’m contracted into and the stress of every day life as I close out a chapter of physical therapy and work drama. Maybe all of this caused my interesting and bizarre dream or maybe it’s what Dream Moods says, but either way there’s work to do on myself and that’s where I’ll start.

Leave a Reply

Categories

