Posted by: karenevoss | June 14, 2016

One World Strong

For a few hours on Sunday, June 12, 2016, I had no clue what occurred in Orlando, FL. I hadn’t watched or heard the news before going to church that morning. I saw a blip on my phone about a shooting in Orlando. I didn’t think much of it because sadly in Milwaukee shootings occur almost daily so I figured a few people got shot or shot at. It wasn’t until later that I realized this wasn’t the case.

Sitting in church, our Priest asked for prayers for the victims in Orlando and I still didn’t have a clue. After mass, at a retirement reception for our priest, again a prayer request went out for Orlando. I finally asked the people at our table what happened in Orlando? They told me that a shooting took place at a nightclub and 20 people died with more injured. I grabbed my phone, brought up CNN on the Google app, read, and shared that 50 people died and 53 more sustained injuries. At that point, I also read what the nightclub stood for.

That night, I watched the news. I recorded the Today Show Monday and Tuesday for the latest updates, stories of hope, and to share in the grief. At the gym Monday night, the world news scrolled the names of the victims who lost their lives in a senseless act of violence. On Tuesday afternoon, I felt compelled to search for an Orlando news radio station through iHeart Radio. I found one, News 96.5 WDBO, and they had changed their programming for people to call in and reflect on the Pulse mass shooting and the radio station, during breaks, said that “#OrlandoStrong” isn’t just a hashtag.

The world has come together once again to support another horrible tragedy. When tragedy strikes, the world forms a bond to help those after a great loss, but why not create a bond to help prevent and combat all of these senseless acts of violence? From cities to states to countries to the world, violence occurs on a daily basis–shootings resulting from disagreements thinking that problems can get solved by pulling out a gun or because of drugs, race, religion, or sexual orientation. How many children have lost their lives because a bullet went through the house they sat in? How many innocent people need to have their lives taken away because of their race, religion, creed, or lifestyle? How many more people need to die before we stand together as one world and take a stand against world violence?

Leave a Reply

Categories

