Posted by: karenevoss | May 29, 2017

A Stack of Love

Books waiting for reading or already read

My love of books and reading started when I learned to read. As a child, I always had my eyes fixated on the pages of reading material. I’m the one who asked for books as gifts and received them along with gift certificates for Waldenbooks and later Borders. Anywhere we went as a family, you can bet I brought a book to read in the car or at the destination. I frequently heard as a child, when I proclaimed boredom, to either go outside or read a book; I often sat outside reading a book (my mom started me in on that).

Every summer, I participated in the summer reading program at our local Milwaukee Public Libraries (oddly enough, my book That’s All I Got! Thrival: A Widow’s Journey After Suicide, resides on shelves in several Milwaukee Public Libraries). Every school year I signed up for the MS Readathon when it came around, raising a lot of money for Multiple Sclerosis. If these programs existed for adults, I’d sign up quickly. I have plenty of unread books on my home library shelves and a ton more wait for my eyes to pick them on the library shelves and in stores.

My taste in genres has grown over the years from The Baby-Sitters Club series, and The Hardy Boys to Steven King, Dean Koontz, Beverly Lewis, Janet Evanovich (the Stephanie Plum series) to new comers Lucy Arlington and Alison Sweeney (thanks to “Days of Our Lives” and “The Biggest Loser”. I’ve also come across authors who share the same publisher as mine and have acquired a few of their books providing I write a review for them and place them on Amazon.com.

The only problems I ever had reading concerned my eyes. Frequent headaches as a child took me from my physician to my eye doctor (I’ve worn glasses since age 5) who informed me that my eyes get strained from reading too much (for school and pleasure). I had to learn the cues of tired eyes and when to take a break. Now as an adult, eye strain doesn’t happen as much from reading on paper, but from electronic screens when I wear contacts. The same rules apply from when I attended grade school and grew up.

My love of books and reading anything continues. Even on the way to and from my parents house today, did I have my head in a book (I stop reading when I cross the street). I do have to watch my posture when I’m reading or writing anywhere. Books follow me to work daily for the few minutes on break or lunch. My love of reading led me to a love of writing and now I need to do both more.

Leave a Reply

Categories

