Posted by: karenevoss | October 5, 2012

Awareness

“It’s what people don’t know that scares them to know. I wasn’t aware until I lost someone dear to me. It’s my turn to make them aware of what’s around every day”. -K.E.Voss

Russ 05/22/69-12/14/08

Married 08/09/08-12/14/2008

How is it that certain organizations receive a ton of admiration and recognition when others don’t? Some of these organizations are represented year round as we see and hear the advertisements and promotional materials. One that requires extra attention can be overlooked.

Are you aware that:

  • More than 36,000 people in the United States die by suicide every year. It is this country’s 10th leading cause of death, and is often characterized as a response to a single event or set of circumstances.
  • Every 13.7 minutes someone in the United States dies by suicide.
  • Nearly 1,000,000 people make a suicide attempt every year.
  • 90% of people who die by suicide have a diagnosable and treatable psychiatric disorder at the time of their death.
  • For more facts visit my Suicide Awareness post.

How many people are aware that September is Suicide Awareness Month? And that one week of September is Suicide Prevention Week? How many people are aware throughout the year, walks take place to raise awareness?

Every year in 200 communities, across the United States, Out of the Darkness Walks take place. Some of these walks even take place overnight and now on college campuses. The following has been shared from the AFSP website.

“By walking in the Out of the Darkness Community Walks to benefit the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP), you will be walking with thousands of people nationwide to raise money for AFSP’s vital research and education programs to prevent suicide and save lives, increase national awareness about depression and suicide, advocate for mental health issues, and assist survivors of suicide loss. ”

Why do I walk?

  • I walk in honor and in memory of Russ.
  • I walk for awareness.
  • I walk to support others.
  • I walk to save lives.
  • I walk to prevent innocent lives lost.
  • I am a thriver, a warrior moving forward after tragedy.
  • I walk for me.

Leave a comment

Categories